Top 11 Cricket Stadiums of India

latest sport news

India is home to some of the largest cricket stadiums. Some of these are prevailing pre-independence era while others are relatively new. There have been reports by the latest sport news and scores that say Chennai city is on its way to construct the world’s largest cricket ground holding a seating capacity higher than the Cricket Ground in Melbourne.

Here is a list of India’s best cricket stadiums that have always been a hot favorite among fans and players across the globe:

  1. Eden Gardens

Situated in: Kolkata

Built In: 1865

Home Team: The Kolkata Knight Riders and the Bengal Cricket Team

Seating Capacity – 68,000

Eden Gardens is the biggest and oldest cricket stadium. Immensely famous among the crowds, the stadium has also been notorious for hostile actions and comments thrown towards foreign players by the spectator. However, these incidents have decreased significantly in the recent years. The huge place boasted a seating capacity of 90,000 prior to the renovation. The place is also very famous for being the dream destination for every player. It is believed that every player secretly desire to play at least once against the jam-packed seats. As per a famous quote attached to this stadium, “a cricketer’s career is incomplete ’till he plays in front of a packed Eden Gardens.” So if you are a true cricket lover, this is the place you must visit at least once in a lifetime.

  1. The Raipur International Cricket Stadium

Situated In: Chhattisgarh

Built In: 2008

Home Team: The Chhattisgarh State Cricket Team

Seating Capacity: 65,000

The place deserves second rank in the list as it is the second largest stadium of the country. The first international cricket match was played here in the year 2010, November 21. Canada and the state cricket team played against each other for this match.

  1. Wankhede Stadium

Situated In: Mumbai

Built In: 1974

Home Team: The Mumbai Indians and The Mumbai Cricket Team

Seating Capacity: 33,108

Mere name of this stadium evokes many emotions in the hearts of cricket lovers. Over many thousands of cricket spectators have fell for this place. Being the most famous stadium of the country, getting tickets here especially when plays is nothing less than winning a jackpot.

The stadium is remembered for being the ground where India won its second prestigious World Cup title under the leadership of MS Dhoni, God of Indian Cricket Sachin Tendulkar bade adieu to his international career, and Ravi Shastri hit six sixes in single over.

  1. Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium

Situated In: Nagpur

Built In: 2008

Seating capacity: 45,000

Home Team: The Central Zone Cricket Team and The Vidarbha Cricket Team

It is a modern cricket venue situated along the outskirts of Nagpur city, roughly 15 km from Jamtha. The stadium is quite popular among cricket fans and players because the facilities offered here are on par with some of the best available across in India. During the first ever match hosted here between India and Australia, India won by a whopping 172 runs. This stadium has received a lot of love and praise from Indian and international players.

  1. M. A. Chidambaram Stadium

Situated In: Chennai

Built In: 1916

Home Team: The Tamil Nadu Cricket Team and The Chennai Super Kings

Seating Capacity: 50,000

The venue is popularly referred to as the Chepauk stadium. In the year 1934, first test match was played in this stadium between India and England. In 2010, the place went through a major renovation to host the Cricket World Cup of 2011.

  1. Sardar Patel Stadium

Situated In: Gujarat (Motera, Ahmedabad)

Built In: 1982

Home Team: The Gujarat Cricket Team

Seating Capacity: 54,000

It is the largest venue in the state of Gujarat. Widely referred to as the Motera stadium (due to its location), it has been the witness to some of the greatest cricket matches in its history. The ground has also set some amazing records such as Tendulkar’s completion of twenty years in international cricket and completion of 10,000 runs by Sunil Gavaskar.

  1. Feroz Shah Kotla Ground

Situated In: Delhi

Built In: 1883

Home Team: Delhi’s Cricket Team and The Delhi Daredevils

Seating Capacity: 55,000

It is one of the most famous venues across India. The ground is also the second oldest after Eden Gardens. The Delhi District Cricket Association heads its administration. Feroz Shah Kotla Ground is also popular for some brilliant records in the cricket history, such as the 35th century of Sachin that beat Gavaskar’s record of maximum international test centuries, the most famous 10-wicket haul of Anil Kumble against Pakistan, and 29 centuries of Bradman which was equated by Gavaskar.

  1. MCA Pune International Cricket Centre

Situated In: Pune

Built In: 2011

Home Team: Maharashtra Cricket Team

Seating Capacity: 55,000

The ground is home to the headquarters of Maharashtra Cricket Association. The high-tech stadium is a new attraction for cricketers. Players from all over India visit this place.

  1. Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium

Built In: Hyderabad

Built In: 2004

Home Team: The Deccan Chargers and The Hyderabad Cricket Team

Seating Capacity: 55,000

The stadium is famous for a taboo. The Rajiv Gandhi Cricket Stadium holds a peculiar record. The home team has never won a match here! It hosted 3 ODI’s and a test match. India lost all of the 3 ODI’s! The test match was drawn.

  1. Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium

Situated In: Kochi

Built In: 1982

Home Team: The Kerela Cricket Team

Seating Capacity: 60,000

It is the fourth largest stadium of the country. Originally built for hosting football matches, Jawahar Lal Nehru stadium presently serves as a venue for domestic and international cricket matches. It was renovated in the year 2010.

  1. DY Patil Stadium

Situated In: Navi Mumbai

Built In: 2008

Home Team: The Pune Warriors India

Seating Capacity: 60,000

The DY Patil Stadium is a recent addition to the number of cricket grounds in India. This location was designed at par with some of the best stadiums in the world.

Leave a Reply